Wright State baseball wins Horizon League regular season, to host league tournament as No. 1 seed

Nischwitz Stadium on the Dayton Campus of Wright State University

The Wright State Raiders clinched the regular season title for the third time in four seasons following a three-game sweep of the Oakland Grizzlies in Toledo. The sweep brought the Raiders’ regular season record to 41-15, which is the sixth time in program history the team has reached the 40-win mark.

The Raiders will play host to the Horizon League championship this week, the fourth time since 2011 that Wright State has hosted the tournament.

The 2019 Horizon League Championship will be played May 22-25. As the No. 1 seed and regular season champion, the Raiders receive a first-round bye and will not play their first game until 11 a.m. May 23.

No. 3 seed Milwaukee will play No. 6 seed Youngstown State in the second game on Wednesday at 4 p.m., after No. 4 seed Northern Kentucky takes on No. 5 seed Oakland at noon.

The losing teams on Wednesday will be eliminated while the winners will advance with the lowest seed playing Wright State on Thursday at 11 a.m. before the highest of those winners play No. 2 seed UIC at 3 pm.  The 7 p.m. game will feature the losing teams of the 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. games.

The semifinal games will be played Friday at noon and 4 p.m. with the championship game slated on Saturday at noon.

All games will be shown on ESPN+.  Check the Championship Central site for more information.

Tickets can be purchased at the gate the day of the games.

Prices for each day:
$8 Adult
$5 Child (10 and under) & Senior (65 and older)
$5/person Groups (15 or more)
FREE – Horizon League students with a valid student ID

All-Tournament Pass:
$20 Adult
$12 Child/Senior/Military

Comments are closed.