Fact Sheet

DOWNLOAD: Coming Soon

Wright State University Mission

We transform the lives of our students and the communities we serve.

We will:

  • build a solid foundation for student success at all levels through high-quality, innovative programs;
  • conduct scholarly research and creative endeavors that impact quality of life;
  • engage in meaningful community service; and
  • drive the economic revitalization of our region and our state and empower all of our students, faculty, staff, and alumni to develop professionally, intellectually, and personally.

Enrollment Information

Enrollment, Fall 2016
Campus Number of Students
Dayton Campus 16,655
Lake Campus 1,336
Total Enrollment* 17,775
*Unduplicated headcount; some students attend both campuses
Enrollment by Group
Group Number of Students Percent of Student Body
Men 8,479 47.7%
Women 9,296 52.3%
Full-time 13,634 76.7%
Part-time 3,295 18.5%
Undergraduates 13,607 76%
Graduate Students 3,295 19%
Doctoral/Professional Students 873 5%
Out-of-State Domestic Students 1,931 10.9%
International Students 1,475 8.3%
Countries Represented 63
Mean Age of All Students 24
Students 25 and Over 5,123 28%
Minority Student Enrollment, Fall 2015
(Omits international students)
Group Number of Students Percent of Student Body
African American 1,766 9.9%
Two or more races 587 3.3%
Asian American 548 3.1%
Hispanic American 553 3.1%
American Indian or Alaskan Native 24 0.1%
Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 12 0.1%
Total Minority Student Enrollment 3,490 19.6%


  • Faculty (full time): 910
  • Faculty (part time): 24
  • Faculty (adjunct): 921
  • Staff (full time): 1,528
  • Staff (part time): 369
  • Combined: 3,752

Number of Degree Programs

  • Undergraduate, Associate: 13
  • Undergraduate, Bachelor’s: 96
  • Graduate, Master’s, Doctoral, and Professional: 121

Campus Locations

Wright State University’s main campus in Fairborn is located 11.6 miles and 15 minutes east of downtown Dayton.

Wright State University—Lake Campus is located on the shore of Grand Lake St. Marys, between Celina and St. Marys, Ohio.

Tuition and Fees

Tuition and Fees, Dayton Campus
(2015–16 academic year, full time: 11–18 hours)
Student type Semester Year
Ohio Undergraduates $4,365 $8,730
Nonresident Undergraduates $8,675 $17,350
Ohio Graduate Students $6,738  $13,476
Nonresident Graduate Students $11,446  $22.892
Room and Board, Dayton Campus
(typical plan)
$4,718 $9,436
Average Cost for One Year, Dayton Campus
(Two semesters for new Ohio undergraduate—includes tuition, books, room and board, activity and technology fee)
Average Cost for One Year, Lake Campus
(Two semesters for new Ohio undergraduate—includes tuition, estimated book/fees, and room and board for a double bedroom)


University Libraries

The University Libraries include the Paul Laurence Dunbar Library, the Lake Campus Learning Center, the Student Technology Assistance Center (STAC), and Special Collections and Archives.

Wright State University Nutter Center

Wright State University’s Nutter Center is southwest Ohio’s premier sports and entertainment complex. The facility is home to Wright State’s NCAA Division I athletics and a popular venue for national touring concerts and performances. With a seating capacity of 11,200, the Nutter Center has consistently been recognized nationally as one of the top venues of its size.

University Financial Data

University Income (Budgeted), 2015–16
State Appropriations $90 million
Other Sources $20 million
Student Fees $194 million
Other Income $7 million
Total $311 million

Research Awards, Fiscal Year 2015–16

  • Total Research and Sponsored Program Awards: $94,046,819.

Foundation Endowment

  • Market value (as of 6/30/16): $84,808,864

Donations Received, 2015–16

  • Receipts: $17,633,487
  • Donors: 6,198


  • Number of Alumni: 106,592
  • Number of Degrees Awarded: 119,696
  • Degrees Awarded to Raider Country Residents: 65,504

Raider Country

Raider Country is the contiguous 16-county region in Ohio anchored by our two campuses.

Student and Graduate Representation of Raider Country by County
County Current Students Degrees
Allen 102 437
Auglaize 430 1,626
Butler 497 2,329
Champaign 148 845
Clark 948 4,558
Clinton 142 717
Darke 303 1,576
Greene 2,576 14,275
Logan 82 557
Mercer 561 3,111
Miami 672 4,609
Montgomery 4,877 27,387
Preble 161 715
Shelby 280 1,331
Van Wert 81 427
Warren 806 5,011
Totals 12,666 69,511

Acreage and Buildings

Dayton Campus

  • Acreage: 557
  • Academic and academic support buildings: 28
  • Student residential buildings: 30

Lake Campus

  • Acreage: 211
  • Academic and academic support buildings: 4
  • Student residential buildings: 2

Official School Colors

Hunter Green and Gold

Academic Structure

Colleges: 8

Education and Human Services; Engineering and Computer Science; Liberal Arts; Nursing and Health; Raj Soin College of Business; Science and Mathematics; University College; and Lake Campus

Schools: 3

Boonshoft School of Medicine; Graduate School; and Professional Psychology


David R. Hopkins, P.E.D.

Thomas Sudkamp, Ph.D.

President of the Faculty
Carol S. Loranger, Ph.D.

Chair of Unclassified Staff Advisory Council
Misty Cox

Chair of Classified Staff Advisory Council
Dawn Banker

President of Student Government
Lukas Wenrick

University Leadership

  • Dan Abrahamowicz, Ph.D., Vice President for Student Affairs
  • Mary Ellen Ashley, Vice President for Enrollment Management
  • Steven J. Berberich, Ph.D., Associate Provost for Faculty and Staff Affairs
  • Larry Y. Chan, Vice President of Legal Affairs and General Counsel
  • Shari Mickey-Boggs, Associate Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer
  • Rebecca Cole, Vice President for Advancement and President of the Foundation
  • Henry S. Limouze, Ph.D., Interim Associate Vice President for International Affairs
  • Robert E. W. Fyffe, Ph.D., Vice President for Research and Dean of the Graduate School
  • Robert Hickey, Jr., J.D., Associate Vice President for Public Affairs
  • Tony Ortiz, Associate Vice President for Latino Affairs
  • Jeff Ulliman, CPA, Vice President for Business and Finance and Chief Financial Officer
  • Hazel Rountree, J.D., M.S.Ed., University Ombudsperson
  • Sheila Shellabarger, University Librarian
  • Thomas A. Sudkamp, Ph.D., Vice President for Curriculum and Instruction
  • Robert J. Sweeney, Ph.D., Executive Vice President for Planning and Secretary to the Board of Trustees
  • Craig Woolley, M.Ed., Chief Information Officer

Board of Trustees

  • Michael Bridges, President/CEO, Peerless Technologies Corp. (Chair)
  • Eloise P. Broner, President/CEO, Good Samaritan Hospital (Secretary)
  • Douglas A. Fecher, President/CEO, Wright-Patt Credit Union (Vice Chair)
  • Anuj Goyal, M.D.
  • William W. Montgomery, President/CEO/Chairman, Celina Insurance Group
  • Lt. General C.D. Moore II, Retired
  • Grace Ramos, Retired
  • Sean Fitzpatrick, Managing Director of North American Research Solutions, LexisNexis Legal & Professional
  • Ryan Pignatiello, Student Trustee
  • Jordan Large, Student Trustee


  • Jay Albayyari, Ph.D., Lake Campus
  • Margaret Dunn, M.D., M.B.A., Boonshoft School of Medicine
  • Kathrin Engisch, Ph.D., Science and Mathematics (Interim Dean)
  • Robert Fyffe, Ph.D., Graduate School
  • Joseph E. Keferl, Rd.D., Education and Human Services
  • Nathan Klingbeil, Ph.D., Engineering and Computer Science
  • Joanne Li, Ph.D., C.F.A., Raj Soin College of Business
  • Rosalie O’Dell Mainous, Ph.D., A.P.R.N., N.N.P.-B.C., Nursing and Health
  • Kristin D. Sobolik, Ph.D., Liberal Arts
  • LaPearl Logan Winfrey, Ph.D., Professional Psychology

Historical Background

  • First Classes Held in Allyn Hall: 1964
  • Achieved Full University Status: 1967
  • First Graduating Class: 1968

Revised: August 2016

Comments are closed.