Wright State University Foundation Board welcomes new trustees

Ron Amos named chair

Ron Amos, president of the Dayton market of U.S. Bank and Wright State alumnus, is the new chair of the Wright State University Foundation.

The Wright State University Foundation has appointed four new trustees to its board and named Ron Amos as chair.

Amos is president of the Dayton market of U.S. Bank and has been in this position since May 1995. His banking career spans over 25 years in the Dayton market with over 20 years specializing in commercial banking activities. He earned both his Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and Master of Business Administration from Wright State University.

Amos has been active in supporting many initiatives in his native Dayton community. He has served on numerous local nonprofit boards including Dayton Children’s Hospital, United Way, YMCA and others.

“I am honored to serve as chair of the Wright State University Foundation,” Amos said. “For students who want to work hard and make something of themselves, the doors of opportunity are wide open at Wright State University. I look forward to working with our foundation trustees to open more doors to students than ever before.”

The foundation has also welcomed four new trustees to its board, including:

  • Brian Kohr, chief executive officer and president of CSafe Global. During his career, Kohr has held senior executive positions with several technology and health care companies. He currently serves as chairman of the board of trustees for The Entrepreneurs Center in Dayton. A certified public accountant, Kohr has dual Bachelor of Science degrees in finance and accounting from Wright State University. He also holds a Master of Business Administration from the Mendoza College of Business at the University of Notre Dame.
  • Julie Gentile, M.D., associate professor of psychiatry at Wright State University’s Boonshoft School of Medicine. Gentile is also project director and primary investigator for Ohio’s Coordinating Center of Excellence in Mental Illness/Intellectual Disability. As division director of intellectual disability psychiatry at Wright State, she has evaluated more than 3,000 individuals with co-occurring mental illness and intellectual disability. She is the recipient of numerous awards including the American Psychiatric Association’s Frank J. Menolascino Award for Excellence in Psychiatric Services for Developmental Disabilities. Gentile will represent the Wright State University Academy of Medicine during her one-year term on the foundation board.
  • David Deptula, vice president of finance and tax at Standard Register. Prior to joining Standard Register, Deptula spent 27 years at Deloitte & Touche, where he managed the Dayton office’s tax practice and served as a tax advisor to numerous multinational public companies. A certified public accountant, Deptula is a member of the advisory committee for Wright State’s Department of Accountancy. He has a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Wright State University and a law degree from the University of Toledo.
  • Martha Balyeat, auditor for the City of Van Wert, Ohio. Prior to her election as city auditor, Balyeat worked as a tax preparer, chapter director for the American Cancer Society and a retail banking officer. She earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Tiffin University and a Master of Business Administration from Wright State University. Active in the local community, Balyeat volunteers her time to the annual Van Wert Rib Fest and the Van Wert Community Band. As a representative of the Western Ohio Educational Foundation, Balyeat assumes a board slot previously held by Dee Whitcraft, who passed away in September 2013.

“We are thrilled to have Ron Amos as our new foundation chair and to welcome these outstanding business and community leaders to the Wright State University Foundation Board of Trustees,” said Rebecca Cole, vice president for advancement and president of the foundation. “We appreciate their willingness to volunteer their time and talents to Wright State and to contribute to our mission of transforming the lives of our students and the communities we serve.”

Comments are closed.