Jerran Young in semifinals of Dark Horse Dunker Competition

Jerran Young

Wright State senior forward Jerran Young advances to the semifinals of the 2014 Dark Horse Dunker competition.

Wright State senior forward Jerran Young has advanced to the semifinals of the 2014 State Farm Dark Horse Dunker competition. Voting is open through March 10.

The winner of the competition will compete in the Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships live on ESPN. The four remaining finalists hail from schools outside the national spotlight and possess the leaping ability, creativity and power to compete against college basketball’s stars in the Slam Dunk Championship. Fans determine the winner by voting daily on Facebook throughout the five-week competition.

The “State Farm Dark Horse Dunker” is a bracket-style elimination competition. Voting began Feb. 10 with 16 finalists. The semifinals feature two head-to-head matchups. Voting for the finals begins March 10. The champion will be announced March 17 and compete in Dallas on April 3.

Fans can view a video of each dunker and cast their vote on Facebook.

The semifinal matchups are:

  • Jerran Young (Wright State) vs. Marcus Lewis (Eastern Kentucky)
  • Jordan Adams Western State Colorado) vs. Justin Simmons (Omaha)

Previous State Farm Dark Horse Dunker winners include Corey Law (High Point University) in 2013, James Justice (Martin Methodist College) in 2012. The 2011 winner, Jacob Tucker (Illinois College), went on to win the Slam Dunk Championship.

Comments are closed.