Wright State Theatre to present the cult-classic ‘Urinetown: The Musical’

“Urinetown: The Musical” runs Dec. 1 to Dec. 10 in the Herbst Theatre in the Creative Arts Center.

Wright State University Theatre continues its season with the cult comedy “Urinetown: The Musical” Dec. 1 to Dec. 10 in the Herbst Theatre in the Creative Arts Center.

Performances are Dec. 1, 2 ,8 and 9 at 8 p.m.; Dec. 3, 9 and 10 at 2 p.m.; and Dec. 7 at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $12 for adults, $10 for seniors and $5 for students. For tickets and theatre information call the Box Office at (937) 775-2500 Monday to Friday, noon to 4 p.m., or purchase single tickets online.

“Urinetown” won three Tony Awards, three Outer Critics Circle Awards, two Lucille Lortel Awards and two Obie Awards. It is a hilarious musical satire of the legal system, capitalism, social irresponsibility and musical theatre.

The musical is directed by Lee Merrill (“Magic Fire,” “Miracle Worker”), musically directed by Sherri Sutter and choreographed by Jessica Eggleston. The set is designed by Pam Lavarnway, costumes by Jonah Larison, lighting by Emily Hope, properties by Terry Webb and sound by James Dunlap.

On the stage, the production features Ian Ashwell as Officer Lockstock, Alejandria Solis as Little Sally, David Emery as Bobby Strong, Celia Arthur as Hope Cladwell, Tristan Allen as Caldwell B. Caldwell, Emily Chodan as Penelope Pennywise, Kyle Sell as Officer Barrel, Hunter Minor as Mr. McQueen, Ethan Evans as Senator Fipp, Sam Maxwell as Hot Blades Harry, Brynnan McNeill as Little Becky Two Shoes, Veronica Brown as Tiny Tom, Kaitlyn Campbell as Soupy Sue, Lauren Kampman as Cladwell’s Secretary, Casey Borghesi as Josephine Strong, Rachel Woeste as Mrs. Millenium, Christian Schaefer as Old Man Strong, Eric Thompson as Billy Boy Bill/UGC Executive #1, Nick Martin as Robby the Stockfish/UGC Executive #2 and Mikayla Shepherd as Old Women. Male ensemble includes Ethan Evans, Jared Levy, Nick Martin, Sam Maxwell, Hunter Minor, Christian Schaefer and Eric Thompson. Female ensemble includes Casey Borghesi, Veronica Brown, Kaitlyn Campbell, Lauren Kampman, Brynnan McNeill, Nicole Pacer, Mikayla Shepherd and Rachel Woeste.

2017-18 Wright State Theatre season
The Wright State Theatre season also includes:

  • “The Grapes of Wrath,” Feb. 1–11
  • “The Mystery of Edwin Drood,” March 15–April 8
  • “The Memory of Water,” April 20–22

Comments are closed.