Area has several local ties to Academy Awards


DAYTON — The Dayton area has a vote in this year’s Academy Awards, but no nominees to match 2010’s best documentary short contender “The Last Truck.”

One of that film’s co-directors, Julia Reichert, is a first-year member of the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences.

That makes her one of about 6,000 people whose votes were counted to decide the winners that will be announced tonight when the Academy Awards air on ABC.

Reichert completed her secret ballot in mid-February and sent it off to PricewaterhouseCoopers for tabulation.

A three-time Oscar-nominated independent filmmaker, faculty member at Wright State University and resident of Yellow Springs, Reichert believes she may be the only Ohio resident who votes on the Oscars. The Academy won’t disclose its complete membership, but has publicized the names of those invited to join the past few years.

Comments are closed.