Model UN wins awards at Dayton Model United Nations Conference

Wright State University’s Model UN team won 11 awards at the 28th annual Dayton Model United Nations Conference (DAYMUNC), hosted by Sinclair Community College on Feb. 5–6.

DAYMUNC is a two-day intercollegiate learning conference during which students from local universities step into the shoes of diplomats of various countries.

“It’s excellent training. You have to develop research and writing skills, you learn public speaking skills,” said Zachary Janow, a senior majoring in political science.

This year’s DAYMUNC was held virtually, with half of Wright State’s team members gathered in the Student Success Center. While on campus the students were physically distanced and required to wear masks.

“This is the first chance for our new delegates to get the experience before going to nationals,” said Vaughn Shannon, professor of political science and one of the team’s faculty advisors.

While the National Model UN Conference is usually held at the United Nations in New York City, this year’s competition will be held virtually due to COVID-19 at the end of March.

Awards won by Wright State students at DAYMUNC:

  • Outstanding Delegate: Amani Wilson (United Kingdom, Security Council), Taylor Ronnebaum (Spain, Human Rights Council) and Hannah Weisgerber (Netherlands, UNIDO)
  • Distinguished Delegate: Zachary Janow (Belgium, Security Council) and Alexandria Applin (Italy, Human Rights Council)
  • Honorable Mention: Doug Suazo (United Kingdom, Simulated Security Council), Brad Kerry (Brazil, UNIDO) and Chase Harness (Turkey, UNIDO)
  • Position paper awards: Hannah Weisgerber (Netherlands, UNIDO) and Cali Gall (Japan, Human Rights Council)
  • Conference winner: Zachary Janow (Belgium, Security Council)
  • Special Recognition Award: Autumn Kern (China, Simulated Security Council)

Comments are closed.