Raiders to meet Georgia Tech in third NCAA volleyball tournament appearance in four seasons

The Wright State volleyball team will play Georgia Tech in the opening round of the NCAA Championship on Dec. 1. (Photo by Joseph Craven)

Making its third trip to the NCAA Championship in the last four seasons, the Wright State  University volleyball team will travel to Milwaukee to take on Georgia Tech in the opening round of the NCAA Championship on Thursday, Dec. 1, at 5 p.m. in the Al McGuire Center.

The Wright State-Georgia Tech winner will advance to play the Marquette-Ball State winner in the second round on Friday, Dec. 2, at 7 p.m.

See the NCAA tournament bracket >>

Wright State enters the NCAA Championship with a 28-3 overall record, while Georgia Tech holds a 20-7 overall mark. This will be the first-ever meeting between the two schools in volleyball.

Wright State punched its ticket to the dance with a sweep over Northern Kentucky in the Horizon League tournament.

This is Wright State’s third NCAA Volleyball Championship appearance, with the spring 2021 Raiders notching the first NCAA postseason win in program history with a sweep of Samford before falling to Texas. Wright State also earned an at-large bid in 2019, the first at-large bid to an NCAA Championship in Wright State athletics history, where the Raiders ultimately fell to Purdue in the opening round.

This season, Wright State posted a perfect 18-0 record in Horizon League play and has won 23 straight matches overall. It is just the fourth time in Horizon League history that a team finished the regular season with three losses or less, with the Raiders joining Milwaukee (1999 and 2007) and Wright State from the spring 2021 shortened season. The Raiders have the only two undefeated League seasons in Horizon League history (2021 and 2022).

Several Raiders earned honors as part of the 2022 Horizon League Volleyball Awards, led by Jenna Story’s fourth consecutive Defensive Player of the Year honor. Fellow fifth-year senior Lainey Stephenson earned Setter of the Year honors for the second time in her career. First-year head coach Travers Green was named the Horizon League Coach of the Year.

The good news didn’t stop with the major awards, as Wright State recorded a league-high four First Team honors, with Taylor Bransfield and Callie Martin joining Stephenson and Story, while Aaliyah Byers was named to the All-Freshman Team.

Comments are closed.