New cohort chosen for Wright Leader Academy

The 2023–24 Wright Leader Academy cohort includes 16 faculty and staff members seeking to take their leadership journey to the next level.

The latest cohort of talented Wright State University professionals began their journey with the Wright Leader Academy this month.

The academy, which was started in 2016, is designed to help Wright State University faculty and staff grow their leadership skills, enhance their internal networks and advance the mission, vision and values of the university.

Full-day leadership sessions meet once a month September through May. Leadership sessions include presentations by outside subject-matter experts and leaders from various Wright State functions who share information about their leadership styles and how their areas connect to the university’s mission and trends facing higher education.

“There really is a desire for high-level professional development among our employees, which is evident since this is our sixth cohort of the program,” said Lisa Ragan, Human Resources coordinator and Wright Leader Academy guide. “I don’t think it’s coincidental that many of our leaders at Wright State are also Wright Leader Academy alumni. This is a great opportunity for faculty and staff to take their leadership journey to the next level.”

The 2023–24 cohort includes:

  • Reid Allen, manager, IT services and instructional technology, Computing and Telecommunications
  • Emanuel Clayton, assistant director, academic success
  • Sara Collins, director, major gifts, College of Engineering and Computer Sciences
  • Mark Cubberley, Ph.D., associate professor, chemistry, and interim associate dean, Lake Campus
  • Emily Dudley, D.V.M, director, lab animal resources, and associate professor, pathology
  • Joe Dick, assistant director, Nutter Center
  • Erika Gilles, associate director, academic affairs, College of Graduate Programs and Honor Studies
  • Matt Grushon, J.D., director, procurement and contract services
  • Catherine Hernandez Hogan, assistant director, Latino Center
  • Debbie Lamp, associate director, student activities
  • Evan Mason, disability and STEM resource specialist, Office of Disability Services
  • Daniel Palmer, J.D., government affairs specialist and secretary to the Board of Trustees
  • Carol Patitu, Ph.D., professor and chair, educational leadership
  • Andrea Sanders, director, enrollment services and outreach, RaiderConnect
  • Becky Sparks, associate controller
  • Junjie Zhang, Ph.D., associate professor, computer science

Joe Dick, associate director of facilities operations at the Nutter Center, said he applied to participate in the academy because he thought it would be a great opportunity to learn how to be a more effective leader.

“We tend to get wrapped up in what we do in our jobs,” he said. “I am glad for the opportunity to learn more about what people in other departments do and to teach them about the things that I do.”

Catherine Hernandez Hogan, assistant director of the Latino Center, said she has wanted to participate in the Wright Leader Academy since she first heard about it.

“I’ve heard people rave about the program. I love the idea that we get to connect with people in the community and on campus who can help us to become more effective leaders for Wright State University,” she said.

Cohort participants must apply and interview to participate in the program. The cohort is limited to 16 participants and the application process is highly competitive. Cohort members are carefully selected to represent a variety of participants who have demonstrated an ability to contribute and lead change at Wright State and are poised to take the next step in their careers.

For more information visit Applications for the 2024–2025 cohort will be accepted beginning in March 2024.

Comments are closed.