Federal Reserve Bank vice president Gary A. Wagner to speak at Wright State

Gary A. Wagner, vice president and senior regional officer of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland

Gary A. Wagner, vice president and senior regional officer of the Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland, will speak at Wright State University on Tuesday, Oct. 3, to give an update on the economy.

Sponsored by the Wright State Economics Club in the Raj Soin College of Business, Wagner will speak from 4 to 5 p.m. in 160 Rike Hall. The talk is free and open to students, faculty and staff.

As part of the nation’s central bank, the Cleveland Fed participates in the formulation of U.S. monetary policy, supervises banking organizations and provides payment and other services to financial institutions. With branches in Cincinnati and Pittsburgh, the Cleveland Fed serves Ohio, western Pennsylvania, eastern Kentucky and the northern panhandle of West Virginia.

Wagner serves as the bank’s senior official in the Cincinnati region, with responsibility for managing relationships with regional stakeholders, monitoring the region’s economic environment and conducting economic research and analysis.

Before coming to the Cleveland Fed, Wagner served as the Philadelphia Fed’s regional economic adviser, conducting applied research on regional and public finance issues. Before that, he was a professor of economics for 15 years, most recently at Old Dominion University in Norfolk, Virginia, where he was associate director of the school’s Economic Forecasting Project.

Wagner holds a Ph.D. and a master’s in economics from West Virginia University. He is an active economics researcher, publishing in peer-reviewed journals on economics and finance topics including revenue cycles, state budget funds and public-sector savings.

Formed in 1967, the Wright State Department of Economics has a long tradition of offering a versatile quality undergraduate and graduate curriculum that serves students and employers in the region.

Originally founded as a branch campus of The Ohio State University and Miami University, Wright State became an independent institution in 1967.

Comments are closed.