From the series Faculty Awards for Excellence 2018

Trustees’ Award for Faculty Excellence

Travis Doom

Travis Doom

Travis Doom, professor and associate chair of computer science and engineering, received the Trustees’ Award for Faculty Excellence for his sustained and balanced contribution to teaching, scholarship and service.

Throughout his career at Wright State, Doom has been the recipient of numerous awards, such as the Wright State Student Government Faculty Member of the Year, Outstanding Engineers’ and Scientists Award (Education), the Robert J. Kegerreis Distinguished Professor of Teaching Award, the College of Engineering and Computer Science Excellence in Service Award and a Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award from the Southwestern Ohio Council for Higher Education.

He also received the Computer Science and Engineering Undergraduate Teaching Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Computer Society. This award is granted to someone who displays tremendous contributions to computer science and engineering through a balanced career incorporating research, mentoring of students, curriculum and pedagogy development and service.

Not only does Doom thrive in his teaching, he also thrives in his research in the fields of undergraduate engineering education, data science, bioinformatics and digital computer systems. He is also co-founder of Forensic Bioinformatics Services, Inc.

Brian Rigling, interim dean of the College of Engineering and Computer Science, praised Doom’s dedication to all aspects of the university’s mission, especially the education of its students.

“Doom excels in teaching, research and professional service through a single-minded focus on always doing what is best for our students,” Rigling said.

Doom has served on the Wright State Faculty Senate since 2009 and is currently the faculty president. In addition, he has served as vice president on the Faculty Union Executive Committee; chair of the ad hoc Faculty Senate Committee on Student Success, the ad hoc Faculty Senate Committee on Information Technology Integration and Effectiveness, the Executive Steering Committee for Information Technology and the University Academic Policies Committee; and co-chair of the ad hoc Faculty Senate General Education Core Review Committee. He also served as co-chair of the Provost Search Committee, the Joint Steering Committee for Academic Reorganization and the University Information Technology Efficiency Committee.

Comments are closed.