Model UN: ‘A tradition of excellence’

For 37 consecutive years, Wright State’s Model United Nations team has earned a delegation award at the national conference in New York City.

The university’s latest delegation award came in March, when the team was tasked with the challenge of representing the Islamic Republic of Iran at the 2016 National Model United Nations Conference.

Wright State students also consistently receive Outstanding Position Paper awards at the conference.

The Model UN is a conference similar to that of the United Nations in which students participate as delegates to various UN committees. The participants research and formulate political positions based on the actual policies of the countries they represent.

At Wright State, preparation for the conference involves more than just writing papers and learning a country’s national policy. Delegates are taught how to implement a country’s policy, how to dress, how to act in committee and what to expect from other countries they will work with in committee.

The team’s faculty advisers are Vaughn Shannon, associate professor of political science, and Liam Anderson, professor of political science.

The 2016 team included head delegates Angie Loyd and Garrett Teets and members Eric Allen, Amanda Baker, Paige Bokman, Crystal Burns, Katie Chaney, Allyson Clark, Elizabeth Crisler, Mike Gross, Samantha Hall, Caroline Hoffman, Jessica Loving, Amani Massey, Dan Palmer, Cody Smith and Ummey Tabassum.

Comments are closed.