Wright State University Foundation welcomes new trustees

The Wright State University Foundation has appointed six new trustees to its board, effective July 1.

Samia Borchers

Samia Borchers, M.D., a dermatologist in solo, private practice since 1984, was a member of the Wright State University Medical School charter class of 1980. She is a past president of both the Montgomery County Medical Society and the Ohio Dermatology Association. She has also been awarded Dermatologist of the Year in Ohio. She is a past chair of the Wright State University Academy of Medicine and is a current board member of the Discover Classical public radio station. Borchers has established an endowed scholarship for students in the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Lauren Macgregor

Lauren Macgregor is a graduate student in Wright State University’s Student Affairs in Higher Education Program. She will be one of two Wright State students serving on the Foundation Board of Trustees.




Gary McCullough

Gary McCullough, a private investor, is a 1981 graduate of Wright State University. For more than 30 years, McCullough served in executive and board positions for such leading companies as TransDigm Group, Inc., The Sherwin Williams Company, Career Education Corporation, Abbott Laboratories, The Wm. Wrigley Jr. Company and The Procter & Gamble Company.


Hernan Olivas

Hernan Olivas is CEO and president of O’Neil & Associates. Olivas has been with ONEIL, a technical publications and training materials firm, for more than 17 years. He serves on the board of the Dayton Area Chamber of Commerce and the board of advisors for the Wright State University College of Engineering and Computer Science.


Randy Phillips

Randy Phillips is senior vice president for corporate development at Leidos, Inc. Phillips, a 1982 graduate of Wright State University, has held multiple executive roles at Boeing Company, TASC, Computer Sciences Corporation and Alcoa. He most recently served at Ellucian as senior vice president for corporate development.


Sharon Honaker Rab

Sharon Honaker Rab is an educator, writer and community activist. Rab taught English for a combined 47 years at Kettering Fairmont High School, Miami University and the University of Dayton. She received a Master of Education in Curriculum and Supervision from Wright State University in 1975. Rab founded the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, the only literary prize honoring the power of literature to promote peace in the country.

“We are honored to welcome these outstanding business and community leaders from the Dayton region and beyond,” said Scott Rash, president and CEO of the Wright State University Foundation. “We appreciate their willingness to volunteer their time and talents to the Wright State University Foundation Board of Trustees. They will provide outstanding service to the foundation, the university and our students.”

The foundation board is also bidding a fond farewell to three trustees. Sonja Wolf, an MBA student who recently graduated; Stephen Hightower, president and CEO of Hightower Petroleum; and Barbara Duncombe, a partner at Taft, Stettinius & Hollister LLP, will end their board terms on June 30.

“We are grateful to Sonja, Stephen and Barbara for their contributions,” said Rash. “They all have tremendous passion for Wright State University and our students. Even though they will no longer be serving on the foundation board, I know they will continue to support our students and serve as ambassadors for our great university.”

Comments are closed.