Innovation and discovery at Wright State University

Named after early aviation pioneers Orville and Wilbur Wright, Wright State University continues their tradition of innovation. A rich and dynamic community of nearly 18,000 students on two campuses, Wright State is changing lives with an ongoing commitment to transforming the lives of our students and the communities we serve.

Located 12 miles northeast of downtown Dayton, Ohio, Wright State’s main campus is an accredited state university with an impressive range of study. Its eight colleges and three schools, including schools of medicine and professional psychology, offer more than 90 undergraduate degrees and 88 graduate, master’s, doctoral, and professional degree programs. The university’s state-of-the-art facilities are located in a beautiful 557-acre wooded setting. More than 190 student clubs and organizations give vibrancy to campus life. Nearly 3,000 students live in spacious on-campus residence halls and apartments.

A Carnegie-classified research university, Wright State’s faculty is dedicated to advancing the frontiers of knowledge, as well as applying it to real problems. Students gain hands-on experience through a variety of community-based programs, cooperative education, internships, service-learning, and research projects. In fact, Wright State ranks as one of Ohio’s top state universities in terms of federal research. It is one of an elite group of universities doing research in cutting-edge fields—making new discoveries that are improving the world around us, and collaborating with corporations and businesses to create new jobs and provide qualified graduates for the workforce.

Wright State is a national leader in accommodating the needs of students with disabilities. Most of the 26 campus buildings are connected by a unique underground tunnel system, easing travel for students, faculty, and staff with physical disabilities. The Wingerd Service Dog Park is the first of its kind in the nation, dedicated for service dogs that assist Wright State students.

The University Libraries, consisting of the Paul Laurence Dunbar Library and the Lake Campus Library, are electronically linked through the OhioLINK system to holdings of other major academic libraries in Ohio and to a wide range of databases for research. The Dunbar Library is home to one of the world’s most complete collections of the Wright brothers’ papers and memorabilia. Other special collections include the U.S. Patents and Trademarks Depository Collection, an African American collection, the congressional papers of former Congressmen Tony Hall and Dave Hobson, as well as sections on local history, children’s literature, and university history.

Wright State participates in 17 Division I intercollegiate athletic programs, and many students compete in intramural sports programs. The Wright State University Nutter Center, a 12,000-seat entertainment and sports complex, and other recreational facilities are available to students on a daily basis, including the Rinzler Student Sports Complex, which opened in 2012.

Our branch campus, Wright State University–Lake Campus, is located on the shores of Grand Lake St. Marys between Celina and St. Marys, Ohio. The recently remodeled campus serves more than 1,100 students, and has a variety of undergraduate and graduate programs, many of which can be completed in their entirety at the Lake Campus. The university opened its first student housing facility at the Lake Campus in the fall of 2011, offering townhouse-style living on the lake.

Whether preparing students to take their place in our ever-changing world, conducting research that can improve lives, or partnering with local communities and businesses, Wright State University is making an impact and changing lives, locally and globally. Visit our website at for more information.

Comments are closed.