#6 Seeded Raiders to Host #7 Seed Green Bay Tuesday Night

WSU won both regular-season meetings by a combined five points

((Contributed by Wright State Sports Information))

2011 Horizon League Men’s Basketball Championship Bracket

February 25, 2011: Raiders head coach Billy Donlon talks to his team during Detroit's 77-67 victory over Wright State at the Nutter Center in Dayton, Ohio.

The Wright State men’s basketball team will enter the 2011 Horizon League Tournament as the #6 seed and will host #7 seed Green Bay on Tuesday, March 1, at 7 pm at the Wright State Nutter Center.

Wright State, 18-13 overall and 10-8 in the Horizon League, finished in a tie for fifth place with Detroit but lost the tie breaker scenario to the Titans. The Raiders defeated the Phoenix in both meetings this season: 67-64 on January 1 at home and 63-61 in Green Bay on January 28. The winner will play the winner of #3 seed Cleveland State and #10 seed UIC at U.S. Cellular Arena in Milwaukee on Friday, March 4, at 6 pm Eastern. Green Bay finished the regular season with a record of 14-17, 8-10 Horizon.

Tuesday’s game can be seen live on the Horizon League Network and heard live on WONE, 980 AM (wone.com). WWRD will show the game locally at 9 pm. Games Friday will be shown live on WWRD locally with the semifinal games shown live on ESPNU Saturday, games Friday and Saturday will be played at 6 and 8:30 pm. The championship game on March 8 at the higher remaining seed will be shown live on ESPN at 9 pm. All game times are Eastern.

Tickets for the game Tuesday are available now at the Wright State Nutter Center box office during office hours or through TicketMaster. Prices are $12 for Adults and $6 for Children while WSU faculty/staff can buy tickets for $6. WSU and Green Bay students are free with ID.


Tuesday, March 1–First Round (Campus Venues)
Game 1 — #10 UIC at #3 Cleveland State, 7:00
Game 2 — #7 Green Bay at #6 Wright State, 7:00
Game 3 — #9 Youngstown State at #4 Valparaiso, 8:00
Game 4 — #8 seed Loyola at #5 seed Detroit at 7 pm

Friday, March 4–Second Round (U.S. Cellular Arena, Milwaukee)
Game 5 — Game 1 winner vs. Game 2 winner, 6:00
Game 6 — Game 3 winner vs. Game 4 winner, 8:30

Saturday, March 5–Semifinals (U.S. Cellular Arena, Milwaukee)
Game 7 — Game 5 winner vs. #2 Butler, 6:00 (ESPNU delay at 10:30)
Game 8 — Game 6 winner vs. #1 Milwaukee, 8:30 (ESPNU Live)

Tuesday, March 8–Championship (at Venue of Highest Remaining Seed)
Game 9 — Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner, 9:00 (ESPN)

Comments are closed.