Higher Learning Commission reaffirms Wright State’s accreditation

WSU-NR-biplanelogoWright State University President David R. Hopkins announced that the Higher Learning Commission has reaffirmed Wright State’s accreditation.

Established as an independent university in 1967, Wright State received its initial accreditation in 1968 and has been continuously accredited since that time.

Led by a group of about 100 administrators, staff and faculty, Wright State began preparing for the most-recent reaccreditation review in spring 2013. The process culminated with a campus visit by a peer review team from the HLC in March 2016.

During the reaffirmation of accreditation process, the peer review team assessed Wright State’s programs to ensure institutional quality and integrity. The process also provided Wright State an opportunity to highlight how the university meets the accreditation requirements and call attention to the programs and opportunities of which it is particularly proud.

Read the review team’s final report (PDF) >>

The HLC peer review team cited Wright State’s assessment and strategic planning processes, self-study process and assurance argument as exemplary. The assurance argument demonstrated how Wright State satisfied the Higher Learning Commission’s criteria for accreditation. Read the assurance argument (PDF) >>

In its review, the peer review team highlighted efforts by the university and the Board of Trustees to act transparently and with integrity and for its commitment to ethical and responsible conduct.

The report also noted that every degree program offered by Wright State “engages students in collecting, analyzing and communicating information; in mastering modes of inquiry or creative work; and in developing skills adaptable to changing environments.”

“The education offered by the institution recognizes the human and cultural diversity of the world in which students live and work,” the HLC review team said.

The team also highlighted Wright State’s development of “a rich array of academic support resources to increase and ensure student success” and for offering students a “rich slate of co-curricular opportunities” in community service, research and economic development.

In addition to institutional accreditation by the Higher Learning Commission, Wright State academic programs are accredited by professional organizations overseeing the quality of academic programs in specific disciplines. Programs accredited at Wright State include:

College of Education and Human Services

  • Teacher preparation and administrator preparation
  • Athletic Training
  • Clinical Mental Health Counseling and School Counseling
  • Rehabilitation Counseling and Rehabilitation Services
  • Sports Science and Exercise Science

Raj Soin College of Business

  • Undergraduate business program and five master’s degree programs
  • Graduate and undergraduate accountancy program
  • Bachelor of Science in Management Information Systems

College of Engineering and Computer Science

  • Bachelor of Science programs in biomedical engineering, computer engineering, computer science, electrical engineering, industrial and systems engineering, materials science and engineering, and mechanical engineering

College of Science and Mathematics

  • Environmental health
  • Clinical Laboratory Sciences
  • Baccalaureate program in chemistry
  • Ph.D. in Human Factors and Industrial/Organizational Psychology

College of Liberal Arts

  • Master of Public Administration
  • School of Music
  • Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts in Social Work
  • LEAP Intensive English Program

College of Nursing and Health

  • Baccalaureate degree in nursing, master’s degree in nursing and the Doctor of Nursing Practice

Lake Campus

  • Grand Lake Law Enforcement Academy

Boonshoft School Of Medicine

  • Accredited by the Liaison Committee on Medical Education

School of Professional Psychology

  • Clinical psychology and internship programs

Comments are closed.