Wright State celebrates Black fraternities and sororities with campus plots

Wright State University cut the ribbon on the new National Pan-Hellenic Council Memorial Plots which is dedicated to students and alumni members of all nine historically Black Greek Letter Organizations, often referred to as the Divine 9.

Wright State dedicated the plaza, which is located in the heart of campus, adjacent to the “Turning Points” sculpture (“BART”) on Oct. 2, with hundreds of students, faculty, staff and alumni in attendance.

“It’s very special because our students and our alumni designed it,” said Wright State President Sue Edwards, Ph.D.

Wright State is believed to be one of the first predominately white public universities in Ohio to create such plots.

“This is very emotional,” said Johnny Holloway, a senior majoring in public health and chapter president of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Pi Phi Chapter. “It means a lot and it’s very important for our history at Wright State.”

Adrian Williams, former president of the Student Government Association who graduated in May, said that in the early 1900s many African Americans were denied a full college experience, including unable to get internships or join student organizations and clubs.

“So these organizations were founded to promote academic excellence, social excellence, social justice initiatives,” he said.

“The purpose of the plots is to honor the history of each organization and NPHC as a whole and provide a gathering spot for both current members and alumni,” said Williams.

The plots were designed to underscore Wright State’s commitment to inclusion and present an educational and cultural opportunity for students, faculty and staff.

All nine NPHC fraternities and sororities have a strong history at Wright State. They include Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Pi Phi Chapter; Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Epsilon Chi Chapter; Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Epsilon Rho Chapter; Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Xi Tau Chapter; Omega Psi Phi Fraternity; Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Alpha Beta Mu Chapter; Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Lambda Rho Chapter; Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Xi Xi Chapter; and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity, Gamma Lambda Chapter.

Donations to support National Pan-Hellenic Council Memorial Plots at Wright State can be made online.

Comments are closed.