Four Wright State women honored in the “Ten Top Women of 2011”

Each year since 1962, the Dayton Daily News has recognized 10 women who are leaders in the Dayton community and contribute their time and talent for the greater good.

The “Ten Top Women of 2011” will be recognized at a Dayton Daily News–hosted luncheon on Dec. 6 at the Benjamin and Marian Schuster Center.

This year’s honorees include two Wright State University faculty members and two alumni:

Jennie Gallimore, Ph.D.


Photo of Jennie Gallimore

Gallimore is the director of the Ohio Center of Excellence in Human-Centered Innovation at Wright State University.

Gallimore is a professor in the Department of Biomedical, Industrial and Human Factors Engineering and holds a joint appointment as a professor in the Department of Surgery in the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

She is the director of the Ohio Center of Excellence in Human-Centered Innovation at Wright State University.

Gallimore applies human factors and cognitive engineering principles to the design of complex systems. She has worked in the various research domains, including visualization of information, aviation, unmanned aerial systems, health care systems, petrochemical and virtual environments.

Gallimore has published over 60 technical articles and has received the 2001 AIAA Simulation and Modeling Best Paper Award, as well as the Wright State College of Engineering and Computer Science Excellence in Research Award 2001/2002. Three of her Ph.D. students received the Stanley N. Roscoe award for best dissertation in aviation human factors (2000, 2003, 2007).

She received her doctorate in industrial engineering and operations research from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University in 1989 and holds a master’s degree in psychology.

Margaret Dunn, M.D.


Photo of Margaret Dunn

Dunn serves as executive associate dean at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Dunn was the first woman to practice general surgery in the Dayton region. Now specializing in breast surgery, she serves as executive associate dean at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine.

In addition, she serves as president and CEO of Wright State Physicians, the region’s largest academic multispecialty physician group, with more than 126 doctors practicing in a wide range of specialties.

Dunn is certified in general surgery by the American Board of Surgery and is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. She was recently elected to a three-year term as a member of the Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons (ACS). She is past president of both the Association of Women Surgeons and the Ohio Chapter of the ACS and has held state and national appointments in the ACS.

She serves on several community boards, including the Dayton Clinical Oncology Program and Premier Community Health.

Dunn is also a professor of surgery at Wright State, serving as a faculty member since 1982.

A native of Freeport, N.Y., she received her bachelor’s degree from Pennsylvania State University and holds an M.D. from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia. She completed her surgery residency and served as chief surgical resident at Einstein-Montefiore Medical Center in New York City. She completed an M.B.A. at Wright State and is a member of the honorary medical society Alpha Omega Alpha.

Madeline Iseli

Photo of Madeline Iseli

Iseli is the vice president of the Sinclair College Advancement Division.

Iseli graduated from Wright State in 2009 with a master’s degree in English composition and rhetoric. She currently serves as vice president of the Sinclair College Advancement Division.

Iseli’s career has been built on public service, including five years in the district office for Congressman Tony P. Hall, where she served as a district director.

She then became the executive director of a Dayton-based nonprofit organization that worked to pass federal legislation creating the Dayton Aviation Heritage National Historical Park and celebrated the centennial of powered flight in 2003.

Iseli currently serves on the board of trustees for the National Conference for Community and Justice of Greater Dayton and on the board of directors for the Dayton Council on World Affairs at Wright State.

She was named to the Dayton Business Journal’s “40 Under 40” list in 2002.

A native of Dayton, Iseli graduated from both Dayton Public Schools and the Leadership Dayton program.

Pamela Houk

Photo of Pamela Houk

Houk worked as a curator at the Dayton Art Institute for 23 years.

Houk has been a prominent supporter of the arts and a community volunteer in the Dayton area for many years. She is a two-time graduate of Wright State, having earned a bachelor’s degree in 1971 and a master’s degree in 1981.

For 23 years, Houk worked as a curator at the Dayton Art Institute (DAI). She founded and coordinated the DAI’s Experiencenter, a hands-on gallery for young people.

Numerous up-and-coming artists and art trends made their Dayton debut at the Experiencenter. The DAI has received national recognition for its child-centered, arts exploration programs. Houk was a driving force behind these groundbreaking efforts.

In 1993, Houk won the Governor’s Award from the Ohio Arts Council for her innovative work in art education.

After retiring from the DAI, Houk curated exhibitions at the Dayton Visual Arts Center (DVAC) and the Boonshoft Museum of Discovery. She has also overseen the installation of exhibits for the Wright Complex at Carillon Historical Park.

She was one of the founders and the first director of DVAC. She was a founder and honorary trustee of the Public Arts Commission. She has written multiple books on art and recently supported a community project with the Wegerzyn Gardens Foundation to connect people to nature through art.

Each year, the Dayton Art Institute presents the Pamela P. Houk Award for Excellence in Art Education.

Comments are closed.