Trustees’ Award for Faculty Excellence goes to Joe Deer

Joe Deer looks on as television and Broadway performer Debbie Gravitte teaches a masterclass during the Stephen Schwartzs Distinguished Visiting Artist event in March.

Joe Deer, a professor in Wright State University’s Department of Theatre Arts and head of the Musical Theatre program, has been honored with the Trustees’ Award for Faculty Excellence.

Deer is sought internationally as a master teacher and education consultant, working with students and faculty at many of the world’s top institutions. His book (written with Rocco Dal Vera) Acting In Musical Theatre has been called “the preeminent book in its field” and was nominated by the Association for Theatre in Higher Education as Book of the Year.

Deer is also an award-winning director or choreographer of more than 120 productions in off-Broadway, regional and university theatres, including regional premieres of Parade, Only Heaven, Park Your Car in Harvard Yard and others.

The trustees also bestowed the:

  • Robert J. Kegerreis Distinguished Professor of Teaching award to Rosemary Ramsey, Ph.D., marketing professor at the Raj Soin College of Business.
  • Brage Golding Distinguished Professor of Research award to Julian Gomez-Cambronero, Ph.D., biochemistry and molecular biology professor in the College of Science and Mathematics.
  • Brage Golding Distinguished Professor of Research award to Stefan Pugh, Ph.D., professor and chair of the Department of Modern Languages in the College of Liberal Arts.
  • Frederick A. White Distinguished Professor of Professional Service award to Kathy Keister, Ph.D., associate nursing professor in the College of Nursing and Health.

The trustees announced the awards during their April 26 meeting.

Comments are closed.