S. Bruce Binder named chair of the Department of Family Medicine

S. Bruce Binder, new chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

S. Bruce Binder, M.D., Ph.D., has been appointed chair of the Department of Family Medicine at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, effective April 1, 2018. A faculty member since 1991, Binder is an associate professor of family medicine at the medical school.

Binder has served as interim chair of the department since April 1, 2017. For many years, he directed the Department of Family Medicine Clerkship and was pre-doctoral director in the department. Binder chaired the Faculty Curriculum Committee for 18 years. He also directed the Introduction to Clinical Medicine courses, which help first- and second-year students hone clinical skills while building relationships with patients and providing effective, compassionate care.

His efforts in research have yielded more than $1.17 million in grant funding. He has won the Teaching Excellence Award three times, and he is a recipient of the Faculty Leadership Award for Excellence in Medical Education. He served on the medical school’s curriculum steering committee, and was one of four faculty members who helped bring the Healer’s Art program to the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

“We are glad to welcome Dr. Binder to his new role as chair of the Department of Family Medicine,” said Margaret Dunn, M.D., dean of the Boonshoft School of Medicine. “His knowledge and experience will be a tremendous asset.”

Binder also has served as director of the school’s Skills Assessment and Training Center and as a preceptor during patient care instruction in the ambulatory care center. He is a longtime provider at a free clinic in Xenia.

Binder earned his M.D. and Ph.D. degrees at the University of Virginia Medical School as part of the National Institutes of Health Medical Scientist Training Program and completed a residency in family practice at St. Elizabeth Medical Center in Dayton. He is a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians and the Ohio Academy of Family Physicians.

Comments are closed.