Boonshoft School of Medicine Family Medicine student group wins AAFP Program of Excellence Award

The American Academy of Family Physicians recognized the Boonshoft School of Medicine Family Medicine Interest Group as one of its 2018 Program of Excellence Award winners. Pictured from left are: Monica Gandhi, Jessica Uhler, Lily White, Erica Seabold and David Yoder.

The American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) recognized the Family Medicine Interest Group of the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine as one of its 2018 Program of Excellence Award winners. This is the third time in the last four years that the Wright State group has received the award.

Family Medicine Interest Groups (FMIGs) from 18 medical schools were recognized, including ones from Howard University, the University of North Carolina School of Medicine, Ohio State University College of Medicine and Saint Louis University School of Medicine. Award winners were honored on Aug. 3 during the AAFP National Conference of Family Medicine Residents and Medical Students in Kansas City.

FMIGs are medical school-sponsored, student- and faculty-run organizations that give medical students a chance to learn more about family medicine through regular meetings, workshops, leadership development opportunities and community and clinical experiences. The Program of Excellence Awards recognize FMIGs for their efforts to promote interest in family medicine and family medicine programming.

The Boonshoft School of Medicine Family Medicine Interest Group received the Professional Development and Interprofessional Collaboration award for its activities in generating interest in family medicine. In 2017-2018, the Wright State group offered medical students a glimpse into family medicine and the many different career opportunities available.

Committed to community service, members of the group led The Ladder, a mentoring program in Dayton for at-risk youth interested in health care careers. They also volunteered in STEPS, a multidisciplinary group of medical, pharmacy, nursing, psychology and physician assistant students that utilizes motivational interviewing techniques to encourage better health and wellness choices among residents at the men’s, women’s and family shelters in Dayton. They also volunteered at Reach Out of Montgomery County, a nonprofit organization that provides health care services, including prescription assistance, to the underserved and medically uninsured population in Montgomery County.

Founded in 1947, the AAFP represents 131,400 physicians and medical students nationwide, and it is the only medical society devoted solely to primary care.

Comments are closed.