DBJ: Wright State official named president of national medical organization


Gary LeRoy is, associate dean for student affairs and admissions at the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

A Wright State University official has been named president of a medical organization with more than 130,000 members nationwide.

Dr. Gary LeRoy, associate dean for student affairs and admissions and an associate professor of family medicine at Wright State University’s Boonshoft School of Medicine, has been selected to lead the American Association of Family Physicians (AAFP). As president of the organization, LeRoy will serve a one-year term and will represent approximately 134,600 family physicians and medical students.

“I am proud that my election will also bring added notoriety to Dayton and the Boonshoft School of Medicine,” LeRoy said. “I hope to be a role model for emerging young leaders.”

LeRoy is a prominent leader in the Dayton community. In 2015, he was named to the CareSource Ohio Board of Trustees, and in 2017, he was named to the board of Goodwill Easter Seals Miami Valley. He is also a board member for the Ohio Academy of Family Physicians, where he served as president from 2004 to 2005.

For years, LeRoy has been a physician at the East Dayton Health Center, and he served as the clinic’s medical director from 1994 to 2008, according to a news release.

He has also been involved with Reach Out of Montgomery County, Dayton Gem Special Needs Center, The Dayton Foundation, Dayton Public Schools, Saint Vincent’s Homeless Shelter and the Wright State University Alumni Association. Most recently, LeRoy served as a member of the community oversight committee for the Dayton Oregon District Tragedy Fund.

LeRoy has been a member of the AAFP since 1991 and was elected to the board in 2015. He is one of 18 officials who were elected to the AAFP’s 2019-20 board of directors this year.

View the original story at bizjournals.com

Comments are closed.