Boonshoft School of Medicine hires new vice dean for educational affairs

Ngozi F. Anachebe was named the vice dean for educational affairs at the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

The Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine has hired a new vice dean to oversee undergraduate medical education. Integrating the existing Offices of Student Affairs, Admissions and Medical Education, this new role will enhance the student educational experience in the M.D. degree program.

Ngozi F. Anachebe, Pharm.D., M.D., has been appointed to the position of vice dean for educational affairs, effective Oct. 18.

“I’m pleased to announce that Dr. Anachebe will work closely with our outstanding teams in Student Affairs, Admissions and Medical Education, led by Dr. Gary LeRoy and Dr. Brenda Roman. We are thrilled to have recruited another outstanding leader to the Dean’s Office team,” said Valerie Weber, M.D., dean of the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Anachebe will join Wright State after serving as senior associate dean of admissions and student affairs at the Morehouse School of Medicine in Atlanta.

Anachebe received her Pharm.D. from the Mercer University College of Pharmacy and her M.D. degree from the Morehouse School of Medicine.

She completed her internship and residency in obstetrics/gynecology at Morehouse School of Medicine/Grady Memorial Hospital in Atlanta and served as chief resident.

After completing her residency, she joined the Morehouse faculty, serving over the years as OB/GYN clerkship director and in assistant and associate dean roles in both admissions and student affairs and undergraduate medical education.

“Her background in these areas brings to us a wealth of knowledge and experience with medical student education,” said Weber. “We are excited to welcome Ngozi to the BSOM family.”

Anachebe’s scholarly interests include predicting outcomes in medical school, mentoring students who are underrepresented in medicine and health disparities in reproductive outcomes. She is currently co-investigator on a Health Research Services Administration Health Careers Opportunity Program grant.

She was the recipient of multiple student awards during her career at Morehouse, including Outstanding Advisor of the Year and Outstanding OB/GYN Faculty Member. She is a recipient of the Morehouse Distinguished Alumnus Award and is a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha honor society. She is a 2020 graduate of the Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine program.

Comments are closed.