Wright State volleyball team to meet Louisville in fourth NCAA tournament appearance in five seasons

Making its fourth trip to the NCAA Championship in the last five seasons, the Wright State University volleyball team will travel to take on Louisville at the KFC Yum! Center in the opening round of the NCAA Championship on Thursday, Nov. 30, at 7 p.m.

The Wright State-Louisville winner advances to take on the Auburn-Western Michigan winner in the second round on Friday, Dec. 1.

The Raiders learned their opponent Sunday night as part of ESPN’s live Selection Show.

Wright State and Louisville met on Aug. 27 in the season’s opening weekend, with the Raiders taking a set off the Cardinals in a four-set loss.

Wright State punched its ticket to the dance last Sunday with a sweep over Green Bay, as Katie Meyer was named Horizon League Tournament MVP, while Callie Martin and Sam Ott were each named to the All-Tournament team.

This will be Wright State’s fourth NCAA Volleyball Championship appearance, with the spring 2021 Raiders notching the first NCAA postseason win in program history with a sweep of Samford before falling to Texas. Wright State also earned an at-large bid into the 2019 tournament, the first at-large bid to an NCAA Championship in Wright State athletics history, where the Raiders lost to Purdue in the opening round.

Wright State enters the postseason with a 21-10 overall record and on a nine-match winning streak, while Louisville is 24-2 overall. This will be the 10th meeting all-time between the two schools, with the Raiders holding a 6-3 advantage in the series.

Several Wright State volleyball players earned honors as part of the 2023 Horizon League Volleyball Awards, led by Callie Martin’s Player of the Year honor. Fellow fifth-year senior Katie Meyer earned Setter of the Year honors and Travers Green was named the Horizon League Coach of the Year for the second straight season.

The good news didn’t stop with the major awards, as Wright State recorded three First Team honors, with Megan Alders joining Martin and Meyer, while Jenny Wessling and Reilley Zegunis each earned Second Team recognition, and Zegunis was named to the All-Freshman Team.

Comments are closed.