Wright State Model U.N. team delivers strong showing at Dayton competition, heading to nationals in New York

Wright State students won nine committee awards, three best-in-committee paper awards and best overall at the 31st Dayton Model United Nations Conference.

Wright State University’s Model United Nations team made a strong showing at the 31st Dayton Model U.N. Conference held at Sinclair Community College.

Wright State students won nine committee awards:

  • Eliza Hendrix, international and comparative politics, Outstanding Delegate in Simulated Security Council
  • Murphy Vanbalen, political science, Distinguished Delegate
  • Coen Lucas, political science, Honorable Mention in Security Council
  • Molly Holloway, entrepreneurship, Honorable Mention in Security Council
  • Jerryd Jones, political science, Outstanding Delegate
  • Brad Klingbeil, mechanical engineering, Distinguished Delegate
  • Randall Bierman, psychology, Honorable Mention in the U.N. Development Program
  • Chloe Johnston, history, Distinguished Delegate
  • Misker Dressie, political science, Honorable Mention in the Commission on the Status of Women

Wright State students Randall Bierman, Hendrix and Reyes Cooper also won three of the four best-in-committee paper awards. Cooper also won best overall for the conference.

Next for the Wright State team is the National Model United Nations (NMUN) International Conference in New York City from March 23-29.

The team will represent Spain in the international conference. The team’s head delegates are Marwah Almuzoughi and Destiny Mullen.

“Wright State has had a Model U.N. team since 1970. We are on a 43-year streak of winning overall team awards at the NMUN international conference in New York City,” said Vaughn Shannon, Ph.D., professor of political science.

Shannon and Liam Anderson, Ph.D., professor of political science, are the team’s faculty advisors.

On Saturday, April 13, Wright State will host the second annual WrightMUN High School Model United Nations Conference on the Dayton Campus. Teams may apply and request which countries they want to represent at wright.ca1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_8v5uxsEYWc9kYm2.

Comments are closed.