Dean Valerie Weber elected to Association of American Medical Colleges’ Council of Deans Administrative Board

Valerie Weber, dean of the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Valerie Weber, M.D., dean of the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, has been elected to the Council of Deans Administrative Board of the Association of American Medical Colleges.

The Council of Deans is a body representing all deans of medical schools across the nation. The administrative board is the council’s governance board. The board consists of three officers, nine members serving three-year terms, and three at-large members serving one-year terms.

Weber is among 14 deans on the board. They represent medical schools from around the country, including institutions at Yale University, the University of Massachusetts, Virginia Commonwealth University, the University of Miami, Indiana University, the University of Texas and the University of Colorado.

Weber said she is honored to be selected to serve.

“The Council of Deans is an important voice for medical education and academic health care, and having the opportunity to contribute at this time, when the health system has been so challenged by the pandemic, is an outstanding way to give back,” she said.

The Association of American Medical Colleges, a nonprofit organization based in Washington, D.C., is dedicated to transforming health care through innovative medical education, cutting-edge patient care and groundbreaking medical research.

The association collaborates with its members and their community partners to make progress towards health equity, address public health crises, and ensure that all people can get the care they need from a diverse, inclusive and culturally responsive physician workforce.

The Council of Deans addresses issues affecting academic medicine and develops strategies to achieve excellence in medical education, research and patient care.

Comments are closed.