Wright State Women’s Luncheon to feature university leaders discussing career growth

Women’s Center Director Nicole Carter

Career growth will be the theme of the Wright State Women’s Luncheon, which will feature a panel discussion with university leaders on career challenges and successes.

The Women’s Luncheon will be held Wednesday, Sept. 29, from 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m. in the Student Union Apollo Room. More than 170 people have registered to attend.

President Sue Edwards

The panel will include Nicole Carter, Sue Edwards, Kari Hoffman, Jen McCamis and Valerie Weber.

The panelists will discuss the support they receive in their careers, challenges they face, work environments and dealing with discrimination.

A question-and-answer session will follow the panel discussion.

Head coach Kari Hoffman

Carter, Ph.D., serves as the director of the Women’s Center and core faculty member in the Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies and African and African American Studies programs. She is the co-coordinator of the Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies Program.

Edwards, Ph.D., is president of Wright State. She joined the university in 2018 as executive vice president for academic affairs and provost. Edwards assumed the presidency in January 2020 and has been focusing on recruitment, retention and relationships.

Boonshoft School of Medicine Dean Valerie Weber

Hoffman was named head coach of the Wright State women’s basketball team in May. Before joining the Raiders, she was head coach at Cedarville University.

McCamis serves as interim recruitment and chief admissions officer as well as director of undergraduate admissions.

Weber, M.D., is dean of the Boonshoft School of Medicine. She previously served as professor of medicine and senior vice dean for educational affairs at the Drexel University College of Medicine.

School of Professional Psychology Dean LaTrelle Jackson

The panel will be moderated by LaTrelle Jackson, Ph.D., professor and interim dean of the School of Professional Psychology in the College of Health, Education and Human Services.

This Women’s Luncheon is funded by Wright State central administration and a campus conversation grant by the American Council of Education (ACE) Women Network Ohio.

The event’s planning committee includes Amanda Watkins, associate director of undergraduate retention; ACEWNO executive board member Debra Radford, director of auxiliary services; Shu Schiller, Raj Soin College of Business, ACEWNO institutional representative; and Carter.


Comments are closed.