Wright State University staff and faculty honored for excellence

Wright State University will recognize select staff and faculty members for their vital contributions to the university with Awards for Excellence.

Recipients will be honored during the Faculty and Staff Awards for Excellence ceremony on Wednesday, Sept. 27, from 3 to 4 p.m. in the Student Union Apollo Room.

The President’s Awards for Excellence honor classified and unclassified staff for exemplary performance in the areas of human relations, leadership, service and innovation. The outstanding campus unit and a group of units that collaborate on a significant project or initiative will also be recognized.

The Faculty Awards for Excellence recognize select faculty members for their outstanding work in the areas of teaching, research, community engagement and professional service.

Below are the recipients of the 2023 President’s Awards of Excellence and the 2022–2023 Faculty Awards for Excellence. Follow the links to read each of their stories.

2023 President’s Awards for Excellence:

Excellence in Human Relations (classified)

Kathy Kuntz, office services coordinator
Office of Alumni Relations


Excellence in Human Relations (unclassified)

Becca Webb, director of enrollment management and community engagement
College of Liberal Arts

Excellence in Leadership (classified)

Vincent Driscoll, lead custodial floor care technician
Custodial Services

Excellence in Leadership (unclassified)

Giancarlo Mariani, associate director
University Center for International Education


Excellence in Service (classified)

Bryan McLean, lead worker
Custodial Services


Excellence in Service (unclassified)

Angie Tipton, budget and project accounts manager
Design and Construction

Outstanding Unit

Department of Public Safety


Outstanding Collaborative Unit

Slate Committee



Spirit of Innovation

Courtney Laukitis, program manager of student organizations
Office of Student Involvement and Leadership

Spirit of Innovation

Amanda Coffman, coordinator of administrative operations
Lake Campus

2022–2023 Faculty Awards for Excellence:

Trustees’ Award for Faculty Excellence

Krishnaprasad Thirunarayan (T. K. Prasad), Ph.D., Professor, Computer Science and Engineering
College of Engineering and Computer Science

University Professor

In-Hong Cha, D.M.A., Professor, Music
College of Liberal Arts

Distinguished Professor Awards:

Brage Golding Distinguished Professor of Research

Sherif M. Elbasiouny, Ph.D., Professor, Neuroscience, Cell Biology and Physiology
College of Science and Mathematics and Boonshoft School of Medicine

Frederick A. White Distinguished Professor of Professional Service

Wakiuru Wamwara, Ph.D., Professor, Marketing
Raj Soin College of Business

Robert J. Kegerreis Distinguished Professor of Teaching

Marie Thompson, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Communication
College of Liberal Arts

Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence:

Outstanding NTE Faculty: Service

Athanasios Bubulya, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer, Biological Sciences
College of Science and Mathematics

Outstanding NTE Faculty: Teaching

Dan Noel, Ph.D., Senior Lecturer, Leadership Studies in Education
College of Health, Education and Human Services

Community Engagement

Sara J. Paton, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Population and Public Health
Boonshoft School of Medicine

Comments are closed.